Category: SCII State Profiles Tags: Idaho, Disability Policy, Community Integration, Olmstead, HCBS, Disability Rights, SCII 2026, State Profile, Independent Living, Policy Analysis, DOJ Finding, K.W. v. Armstrong, Criminalization of Mental Illness
Introduction
Idaho presents a genuinely contradictory profile: it posts one of the strongest Medicaid HCBS-to-institutional spending ratios in the country (77.3% of LTSS dollars to HCBS) and a reported zero-waitlist DD waiver, yet in January 2025 the U.S. Department of Justice formally found the state currently in violation of the ADA’s integration mandate for unnecessarily warehousing people with physical disabilities in nursing facilities. Layered onto that is a well-documented pattern, exposed by ProPublica, of Idaho’s county jails and state prison holding more people with serious mental illness than its entire state psychiatric hospital system. Idaho is a state where the aggregate spending numbers look good while two separate, live, substantiated findings — one federal, one journalistic — show the on-the-ground reality is one of active institutional and correctional warehousing.
2026 SCII Score Card
| Composite Score | 56 / 100 |
| National Rank | Part of the 2026 rolling expansion — see the full ranking on the SCII Data Analysis page |
| Tier | 🟠 Tier 3 — Lagging |
| Active DOJ Olmstead Action | Yes — January 16, 2025 Letter of Findings: Idaho currently violating Title II ADA by unnecessarily segregating adults with physical disabilities in nursing facilities |
| Olmstead Plan Status | No current, comprehensive Olmstead Plan identified |
| Judicial Posture | Protected — Ninth Circuit; K.W. v. Armstrong (2015) struck down Idaho’s opaque DD-services budget-cut formula as a due-process violation |
| Data Current As Of | 2026 (source data dated 2011–2025) |
Domain Scores
| Domain | Score | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Institutional Population Burden | 10 / 20 | Two state hospitals combined hold ~145 patients while one county jail and the state prison at Kuna each likely individually house more people with serious mental illness (ProPublica); 64 ICF/IID-licensed facilities |
| HCBS Infrastructure | 15 / 20 | 77.3% of Medicaid LTSS spending went to HCBS in 2023 (top quartile nationally); DD waiver reported zero waitlist, but the separate Aged & Disabled waiver caps at ~15,000 slots/year and does waitlist |
| Olmstead Compliance | 6 / 15 | Live, substantiated DOJ finding (Jan. 2025) of current ADA violation; no comprehensive Olmstead Plan; Ninth Circuit posture protected per K.W. v. Armstrong |
| Criminal Justice Diversion | 10 / 15 | 24/7 statewide Mobile Response Teams; 10 mental health courts and 21 drug courts across every judicial district; new $2.5M Pre-Prosecution Diversion Grant Program; lowest 988 call-volume growth of any state |
| Housing & Economic Self-Determination | 6 / 15 | Has not eliminated 14(c); only 16% of Idahoans with I/DD in competitive integrated employment (2024); modest, dated state SSI supplement (~$53/month, 2011 figure) |
| Voice, Oversight & Civil Rights | 9 / 15 | Disability Rights Idaho runs the full federal P&A program suite; three-center ILC network; Idaho Human Rights Act not substantively updated since 2005, predates the ADA Amendments Act |
Critical Population Counts
| Setting | Count | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Nursing facility residents under 65 | Not separately reported for Idaho | — |
| State psychiatric hospital census | ~145 patients combined (State Hospital North + State Hospital South) | ProPublica investigation, citing state data [3] |
| ICF/IID residents | Not separately reported (64 ICF/IID-licensed facilities statewide) | CareListings facility directory [4] |
| Estimated incarcerated adults with serious mental illness | Not separately quantified, but Ada County Jail (~838 inmates) and the state prison at Kuna (~1,653 inmates) are each independently estimated to likely hold more people with SMI than Idaho’s two state hospitals combined (145 patients) | ProPublica / Treatment Advocacy Center reporting [3] |
| Chronically homeless adults with disabilities | Not separately broken out (2,697 total individuals counted in Idaho’s 2025 statewide PIT count, not disaggregated as chronic) | Idaho Housing and Finance Association, 2025 PIT Count [5] |
| HCBS waiver waitlist (Developmental Disabilities Waiver) | 0 individuals waiting (2025); separate Aged & Disabled waiver does waitlist once its ~15,000 annual slots fill | KFF 2025 national HCBS survey [6]; MedicaidPlanningAssistance.org [8] |
Three Strengths
1. A genuinely strong HCBS-to-institutional spending balance. At 77.3% of total Medicaid LTSS spending directed to home- and community-based services in 2023, Idaho sits in the top quartile of states nationally on this specific rebalancing metric [7], and its Developmental Disabilities waiver reported zero people waiting as of KFF’s 2025 survey [6].
2. A statewide treatment-court infrastructure. Idaho operates treatment courts, including 10 dedicated mental health courts and 21 drug courts, in every one of its judicial districts [15], backed by a new $2.5 million Pre-Prosecution Diversion Grant Program specifically aimed at diverting people with mental health and substance-use needs away from prosecution [16].
3. A federally designated P&A running the full standard program suite. Disability Rights Idaho operates all five standard federal P&A grant programs (PAIMI, PADD, PAIR, CAP, PAAT) [21], supported by a three-center Independent Living network with statewide reach through the State Independent Living Council [22].
Three Critical Gaps
1. A live, substantiated DOJ finding of ADA violation. In January 2025, DOJ’s Civil Rights Division formally concluded Idaho is currently violating Title II of the ADA by unnecessarily segregating adults with physical disabilities in nursing facilities due to insufficient HCBS [9] — not a historical consent decree but an active, recent, documented finding of ongoing noncompliance.
2. Jails and prisons functioning as the state’s de facto psychiatric system. ProPublica’s investigation found Idaho’s two remaining state psychiatric hospitals hold only 145 patients combined, while a single county jail and the state prison at Kuna each likely individually house more people with serious mental illness than both hospitals put together [3] — a stark, sourced illustration of criminalization displacing treatment.
3. No elimination of subminimum wage, paired with a low competitive-employment rate. Idaho continues to permit Section 14(c) subminimum-wage certificates [18], and only 16% of Idahoans with intellectual/developmental disabilities were in competitive integrated employment as of 2024 [20].
Key Insight
Idaho is a cautionary example of why a composite index needs to weigh qualitative legal and journalistic findings alongside spending ratios: a state can look strong on the aggregate HCBS-spending metric that many national scorecards foreground, while simultaneously being the subject of a live federal finding that it is violating the ADA’s integration mandate, and while its jails and prisons quietly absorb more people with serious mental illness than its entire psychiatric hospital system. The gap between Idaho’s spending-ratio strength and its DOJ violation and criminalization findings suggests dollars are reaching the HCBS system in aggregate without translating into either full compliance with federal integration law or a functioning non-correctional crisis-response alternative — precisely the disconnect between "infrastructure exists" and "institutionalization is actually being prevented" that the composite score is designed to surface.
References
[1] Idaho Department of Health and Welfare. Idaho Psychiatric Bed and Seat Registry. https://healthandwelfare.idaho.gov/providers/behavioral-health-providers/idaho-psychiatric-bed-and-seat-registry
[2] Western Psychiatric State Hospital Association. Idaho South. https://wpsha.org/map-location/idaho-south/?mpfy-pin=431
[3] ProPublica. Idaho Keeps Some Psychiatric Patients in Prison, Ignoring Decades of Warnings About the Practice. https://www.propublica.org/article/idaho-keeps-some-psychiatric-patients-in-prison-ignoring-decades-of-warnings-about-the-practice
[4] CareListings. Intermediate Care Intellectual Disabilities Facilities Complete Directory [Idaho]. https://carelistings.com/find/intellectual-disability-care
[5] Idaho Housing and Finance Association. (2025). 2025 Point-in-Time Count: Characteristics of Homelessness. https://www.idahohousing.com/documents/pit-count-statewide.pdf
[6] KFF. (2025). A Look at Waiting Lists for Medicaid Home- and Community-Based Services from 2016 to 2024. https://www.kff.org/medicaid/a-look-at-waiting-lists-for-medicaid-home-and-community-based-services-from-2016-to-2024/
[7] Medicaid.gov / Mathematica. (2023). Trends in Users and Expenditures for HCBS as a Share of Medicaid LTSS Spending (LTSS Rebalancing Brief). https://www.medicaid.gov/medicaid/long-term-services-supports/downloads/ltss-rebalancing-brief-2023.pdf
[8] MedicaidPlanningAssistance.org. Idaho’s Aged and Disabled (A&D) Medicaid Waiver. https://www.medicaidplanningassistance.org/idaho-aged-and-disabled-waiver/
[9] U.S. Department of Justice, Civil Rights Division. Disability Rights Cases [Letter of Findings to the State of Idaho, January 16, 2025, re: Title II ADA/nursing facility segregation]. https://www.justice.gov/crt/disability-rights-cases
[10] Justia. K.W. v. Armstrong, No. 14-35296 (9th Cir. 2015). https://law.justia.com/cases/federal/appellate-courts/ca9/14-35296/14-35296-2015-06-05.html
[11] ACLU of Idaho. K.W. v. Armstrong. https://www.acluidaho.org/en/cases/kw-v-armstrong
[12] Idaho Department of Health and Welfare. Crisis Services and Quick Reaction Team (QRT). https://healthandwelfare.idaho.gov/services-programs/behavioral-health/crisis-services-and-quick-reaction-team-qrt
[13] Idaho Department of Health and Welfare. (2023). 988 Lifeline answers nearly 5 million calls, texts, and chats in its first year, including 12,657 in Idaho. https://healthandwelfare.idaho.gov/news/988-lifeline-answers-nearly-5-million-calls-texts-and-chats-its-first-year-including-12657
[14] KFF. 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline: Two Years After Launch. https://www.kff.org/mental-health/988-suicide-crisis-lifeline-two-years-after-launch/
[15] Idaho Supreme Court. Treatment Courts. https://isc.idaho.gov/about-the-courts/treatment-courts
[16] Office of the Governor of Idaho. Idaho seeks to reduce crime by investing in drug treatment and mental health services. https://gov.idaho.gov/pressrelease/idaho-seeks-to-reduce-crime-by-investing-in-drug-treatment-and-mental-health-services/
[17] Social Security Administration. (2011). State Assistance Programs for SSI Recipients, January 2011 — Idaho. https://www.ssa.gov/policy/docs/progdesc/ssi_st_asst/2011/id.html
[18] APSE (Association of People Supporting Employment First). (2024). Trends and Current Status of 14(c). https://apse.org/wp-content/uploads/2024/08/APSE-14c-Update-REV-Jul24.pdf
[19] Federal Register. (2025). Employment of Workers With Disabilities Under Section 14(c) of the Fair Labor Standards Act; Withdrawal. https://www.federalregister.gov/documents/2025/07/07/2025-12534/employment-of-workers-with-disabilities-under-section-14c-of-the-fair-labor-standards-act-withdrawal
[20] ThinkWork (Institute for Community Inclusion, UMass Boston). StateData. https://www.thinkwork.org/statedata
[21] Disability Rights Idaho. About Us. https://www.disabilityrightsidaho.org/about-us/
[22] State Independent Living Council of Idaho. Idaho Centers for Independent Living. https://silc.idaho.gov/idaho-centers-for-independent-living/
[23] Idaho Commission on Aging. Long-Term Care Ombudsman Program. https://aging.idaho.gov/ombudsman-program/
[24] Idaho State Bar. The Idaho Human Rights Act is Long Overdue for a Legislative Update. https://isb.idaho.gov/blog/the-idaho-human-rights-act-is-long-overdue-for-a-legislative-update/
[25] Idaho Human Rights Commission. Disability. https://humanrights.idaho.gov/idaho-law/types-of-discrimination/disability/
Leave a Reply